Toasted Pecan-Coconut Granola and a Renunciation


Oh, there is no sun today, no sun at all.  Only rainfall.  Seattle is grumpy with summer-wanters and I’d turn to carbs for a pick-me-up, but I know no salvation lies there.  I’ve prostrated to that fickle god a million times…  Sugar! In all your guises, how you used to fool me into thinking I was happy, only to come thundering down on me later.

Toasted Pecan-Coconut Granola (low-carb)

Toasted Pecan-Coconut Granola (Low-Carb)

So instead, I will make granola.  Delicious, decadent granola.  Only this time, I will use nuts and butter and unsweetened coconut.  No spikes to my blood sugar will ensue, no hostile feelings towards other drivers will leave me in a funk, no yelling at the cat will commence.  Instead, pure, even-keeled lunch.  I’ll take it.  Here’s how it goes:

The Ingredients

1 cup chopped pecans

1 cup sliced almonds (crumbles into smaller bits with my hands)

1 cup sunflower seeds or pepitas

1 cup flaxmeal

1 cup raw unsweetened coconut

1 cup TVP or Textured Vegetable Protien…can be omitted if you are opposed to the stuff, which I am, to a degree, but my pocketbook asks me to stretch recipes out in these days of “austerity”, so I figure a little bit of anything won’t hurt you too much if you don’t overdo it.    According to my kitchen’s bible, Nourishing Traditions, TVP and other extruded foods, like any breakfast cereal, aren’t particularly good for you.  More on that to come in further posts.

1/3 cup melted butter or coconut oil

3 tsp vanilla flavor

4 tsp cinnamon

1/2  tsp liquid Stevia, plus to taste, a couple Stevia or Truvia packets (or Splenda)

The Process

Preheat oven to 350/Gas Mark 4.

Combine the nuts, coconut, flax meal and cinnamon in a large-ish bowl.  In a separate bowl in the microwave, melt the butter or coconut oil, and stir in the vanilla and stevia.  Pour wet mix over dry and toss to coat.  Take a taste, it should be somewhat sweet.  If it’s not sweet enough for your sweet-hungry taste buds, add some more dry sweetener to taste and mix really well (don’t add liquid Stevia at this stage, it will likely stick to only a clump of the nut mixture, and not get dispersed into the rest).

Deliver this mix on baking trays into the oven for 12 to 15 minutes, taking care to stir every 5 mins or so, and watch for hot-spots in your oven, it can scald/burn the delicate nuts pretty easy if you don’t keep an eye out.  You want the granola to get toasty brown, but this recipe can go very quickly from toasty brown to burnt dark.  Beware and stay present!  Timer’s are good!

Yields about 10 half-cup servings.  Effective carbs:  9 per serving.  7 if you omit the TVP.  Add 2 carbs if you serve this with 1 cup almond milk, or no carbs it you top with heavy cream.

People, because I’ve made this recipe many times, I can tell you; it will last about 2 days in this house.  My husband thinks it’s a feed bag.  Just FYI, it’s addictive.

I started this post yesterday, and meant to finish it last night, but the Seattle rain I was talking about made visibility bad, and guess what?  A moving truck (and the driver therein) decided to broadside my car!  Needless to say, my post got delayed.  Remember the comment earlier in this post about hostile feelings towards other drivers…..Grrrrr!  But, I have to say, while shaken up, I remained cool and hope this fact helps bring about a positive resolution to my destroyed front bumper, as I was not the irate lady I could have been had caffeine and sugar been coursing through my veins.  But, in reality, as always, it’s out of my hands.  Gonna funnel any energy today on more postings, getting some beats for a new song tracked, and then, a soggy summer BBQ!  Cheers!

Follow Me on Pinterest

2 thoughts on “Toasted Pecan-Coconut Granola and a Renunciation

  1. This sounds lovely–I often make grain free granola and like it a lot. It stays with me longer. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

