Chocolate-Coconut (Flourless, Sugar-Free) Cake with Marscapone Whip, and other inspirations


Blood. Sugar. Coconut. Chocolate. Marscapone. What powerful, potent words. I obsessed over them this weekend, as I low-carb baked, blended, seared and smushed. The sun finally came out, Sun-day, and even though I got in a minor car accident a couple nights ago, it didn’t curb my enthusiasm in the kitchen. In fact, that brush with danger and fear left me breathless with an almost inexhaustible desire to make things and take care of myself.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


I baked a cake.  I discovered the joy of making “shakes” I fried waffles. I fried kale. I seared burgers and picked greens from my friend’s garden and whipped up some homemade vinaigrette. In the music studio, my husband Brian and I wrote and recorded a completely new song for our band White Bee. I posted one blog and am now starting another while there’s still light left on this Sunday-post-solstice.

As a creative, I take inspiration when it comes. When it’s not here, I can’t fake it.  Though I have to say, the muse surprised me this time, as Brian and I’ve endured a tough couple months. But for some reason, instead of feeling down, I feel great… inspiration has come knocking and I think I know why….It’s summertime, and the flowers are luscious and obnoxiously fragrant, the gardens around our house are SUBLIME, and in Seattle, it’s light until 10pm.  Sunny Day Kitchen has turned into Sunny Night Kitchen and  I’m inspired to share some recipes.  Perhaps after this I’ll edit some drum tracks.  Boom chucka boom boom.  Here you go:

Chocolate-Coconut Cake (Flourless and Sugar-Free) with Marscapone Whip

The Ingredients

For the cake:

4 oz unsweetened baking chocolate

3 whole eggs

1/2 cup coconut oil (you can use equal amount of butter if you don’t like the slight coconutty flavor that coconut oil imparts)

1/4 cup cocoa powder

1-2 tsp. chocolate or plain liquid Stevia (If you want to use honey, use 3/4 cups honey, but then don’t add the water this recipe calls for).  Taste batter and make sure it’s sweet enough for you, start small with adding liquid Stevia, it’s potent. 2 tsp. should be plenty of liquid Stevia.

2/3 cup water (or almond milk for slightly richer flavor)

1/3 cup egg whites (for a quick meringue)

For the whip/frosting:

•    3/4 cup whipping cream chilled
•    8 oz. Marscapone cheese
•    1/2 to 1 tsp liquid Stevia
•    1 tsp vanilla

The Process

1.  Preheat oven to 375/Gas Mark 5.  Grease 8″ sping-form pan with oil or butter

2.  Melt chocolate and oil/butter together, stirring until smooth (you can melt them together in microwave, as well, until just melted, don’t let it boil).

3. Combine melty chocolate/oil mix with cocoa powder, Stevia, water or almond milk, and eggs. Whisk into a smooth batter.

4. In separate bowl, whip your egg whites on the highest speed of your mixer to form a stiff meringue, then fold the meringue gently into the batter, do not over mix.  You want the bubbles to aerate your batter for a spongier cake. If you don’t want a light cake, leave out the meringue for a dense “decadent” style cake.

5. Pour mix into pan and bake for 20 minutes or so, or until you poke a knife or toothpick into the center of the cake and it comes out clean.  Rotate your cake in the oven after 10 minutes if your oven has a hot-spot.

6. Cool and frost with Marscapone Whip

•    3/4 cup heavy cream chilled
•    8 oz. Marscapone cheese
•    1/2 to 1 tsp liquid Stevia
•    1 tsp vanilla

Whip the cream until stiff. In a separate bowl, beat the Marscapone until very smooth, then beat in the Stevia and vanilla. Turn the mixer to its lowest speed and blend in the whipped cream to the cheese mixture.

Voila, sweet treats without the sugar or sugar-crash an hour later.  If you don’t use honey in this recipe, you’re looking at 1-2 carbs per slice of this cake.  It’s rich, but the meringue lightens it up, and the Marscapone Whip tastes surprisingly light, too.  Enjoy!

This cake idea was inspired by a cake recipe I found here.  🙂

Follow Me on Pinterest

Leave a Reply

